An Old Open Letter to My Poppa

The only gift I could give you were my words

Dear Poppa,
I want to thank you for everything and I couldn’t think of any other way except to write to you.
I can’t even begin to express how much you mean to me, I don’t think there are enough words in the English language to express how much I love you and how blessed I am to have you in my life.

I think back to my earliest memories of kindergarten and there you are. I can’t think of many memories where you aren’t there or at least involved. I remember all the times you bought me medicine when I was sick or took me to the doctors. I remember each pair of shoes you brought me. I remember you always making sure I had clothes. You made sure I always had food, whether it was snacks for lunches or cereal for the morning. I know you played a part in making sure there was always a roof over my head. Poppa, you made sure I had everything I needed, that my basic needs were fulfilled. You even helped out with extras, like school trips, treats and other fun things
I still remember giving you all my Father’s day cards and accepting my art… even if you had no idea what it was. I keep close to my heart all the times you played cards with me and other games. I have so many memories of you and I love them all.
To this day, here you are giving me a place to call home, you gave me a safe place. A place where I never have to fear anything. When everything in my life was horrible I knew I could come to you and grandma and everything would just be alright. You protect me and take care of me. You worry for me and watch me grow. The amount of support you give me, inspires me.
When I had walked across the stage for grade 6, grade 8, grade 12 you were always there. The day I graduated college, you were the first person I thought of that I wanted to be there. You are the first person I want to be there when I finish University. I want nothing more than to make you proud and I love nothing more than seeing how proud you are of me.
I realize now, that the

whole time I was searching for my dad and even know I have my father in my life now. I have always had a father standing behind me, and that’s you poppa. You may not be my real dad, but you always be the strongest father like figure in my life. It’s you that I want standing behind me in support and it’s you I want watching me go through all life’s milestone no matter where you are.
I said it before and I will always say it, I am so blessed to have you in my life and I am so thankful for everything you have provided me with and have done.

All The Love,

Your Anxious Granddaughter

Leave a Reply

